Metropolitan News-Enterprise


Tuesday, March 21, 2023


Page 1


Judges Elect Montgomery LASC Commissioner †


By a MetNews Staff Writer




The counting of ballots yesterday at noon resulted in a declaration that West Los Angeles civil litigation defense attorney James I. Montgomery Jr. has been elected a Los Angeles Superior Court commissioner.

A vacancy was created by the retirement of Commissioner Kristi Lousteau. Judges had the option of voting for Lousteauís successor electronically or by paper ballot, choosing from a list of seven finalists named by a screening committee.

The finalists were Montgomery, a partner in Gibbs Giden Locher Turner Senet & Wittbrodt LLP; Principal Deputy Los Angeles County Counsel Syna N. Dennis; Deputy Los Angeles City Attorney Michelle Lim; private practitioner Latrice Byrdsong; Karine Mkrtchyan, a partner at Fraser Watson & Croutch, LLP; Chief Deputy Los Angeles County Counsel Lawrence L. Hafetz; and Los Angeles County Bar Association President Ann I. Park, Ann I. Park, of counsel at Foley & Mansfield PLLP.

Countiung the ballots were Los Angeles Superior Court Judges Maureen Duffy-Lewis, Terry A. Green, and Patti Jo McKay.

Montgomery has been with Gibbs Giden since 1999. He is a former president of the John M. Langston Bar Association has beem indicted into that associationís Hall of Fame.

His law degree is from UCLA.


Copyright 2023, Metropolitan News Company