Metropolitan News-Enterprise


Wednesday, May 3, 2023


Page 1


Syna N. Dennis Elected LASC Commissioner


By a MetNews Staff Writer


Syna N. Dennis, a Los Angeles principal deputy county counsel, has been elected as a court commissioner, Presiding Judge Samantha Jessner announced yesterday.

Results of the balloting were certified on Monday by Judges Michael P. Linfield, Patti Jo McKay, and Michael L. Stern.

Dennis was fourth on a list of candidates chosen by a screening committee. The top three—Lucia Murillo, Philip Peng, and James Montgomery—were previously elected.

In 2006-07, Dennis was president of Black Women Lawyers (“BWL”). According to the BWL website:

“Dennis enthusiastically led BWL in its 32nd year of providing outstanding service to its members and the community. That year’s theme “Service Without Borders: Connecting Law & Community” honored Black Women Lawyers’ unique commitment to improving the status of women and children in our society. Dennis remains active in her alumnae association, and enjoys many outdoor activities, including cycling, skiing and jogging.”

In the County Counsel’s Office, she represents the county public administrator. Prior to joining the Probate Division, Dennis was assigned to the General Litigation Division from 1999-2007, litigating a variety of cases providing advice to the Board of Supervisors and various county departments.

Her law degree is from the University of California Berkeley.

Remaining on the commissioner list are Los Angeles Deputy City Attorney Michelle Lim, transactional attorney Lattice Byrdsong, civil litigator Kaiine Mkrtchyan of Fraser Watson & Croutch, LLP, Chief Deputy County Counsel Lawrence Hafetz, and Los Angeles County Bar Association President Ann I. Park.


Copyright 2023, Metropolitan News Company