Metropolitan News-Enterprise


Wednesday, April 17, 2019


Page 1


Tamila Jensen to Head LACBA in 2020-21


By a MetNews Staff Writer



LACBA President-elect

Granada Hills attorney Tamila Jensen, a former president of the San Fernando Valley Bar Association who specializes in elder law and real property law, will lead the Los Angeles County Bar Association in 2020-21, having been elected, without opposition, as the groupís president-elect.

None of the persons selected by LACBAís Nominating Committee for officer positions or for membership on the Board of Trustees drew opposition. Monday at 5 p.m. was the deadline for filing independent candidacy petitions.

Jensen and the others will officially take office on July 1, when the current president-elect, Ronald F. Brot of Brot & Gross, will automatically assume the presidency. The current president, Brian S. Kabatech of Kabatech LLP, will remain a trustee and member of the Executive Committee as immediate past president.

† Others elected to officer positions are Bradley S. Pauley, senior vice president; Jo-Ann W. Grace, vice president; and Philip H. Lam, vice president for diversity, inclusion & outreach.

New trustees-at-large are Kristin Adrian, Jeffrey B. Margulies, and Benjamin G. Shatz.

Trustees from sections are Julia L. Birkel, Trusts and Estates; Brant H. Dveirin, Real Property; and Kevin L. Vick, Entertainment Law and Intellectual Property.

Trustees from bar associations that are affiliates of LACBA are Sarvenaz Bahar, Iranian American Lawyers Association; Roy J. Jimenez, LGBT Bar Association of Los Angeles; and Jeanne L. Nishimoto, Japanese American Bar Association.

All of the officers have one-year terms except the vice president for diversity, inclusion and outreach whose term is two years. Trustees also have two-year terms

The officers and trustees will be sworn in at an installation dinner, to take place June 27 at the Biltmore Hotel. At that event, former LACBA President Patrick M. Kelly, who is also a former State Bar president, will receive the Shattuck Price Award, the associationís highest honor.

Court of Appeal Presiding Justice Elwood Lui of this districtís Div. Two will be given the Outstanding Jurist Award.


Copyright 2019, Metropolitan News Company