Metropolitan News-Enterprise


Thursday, March 23, 2017


Page 1


Kabateck, Jensen, Lam Expected to Be Unopposed For County Bar Association Officer Positions


By a MetNews Staff Writer


There was no word late yesterday as to whether opposition arose by the 5 p.m. deadline to any of the Los Angeles County Bar Association’s Nominating Committee choices for officer and trustee positions, though there had been no rumblings of any opposition ticket being formed.

It was expected that trial lawyer Brian S. Kabateck would draw no opponent for the post of president-elect on July 1. It was also anticipated that Tamila C. Jensen, a past president of the San Fernando Valley Bar Association, would become LACBA senior vice president and Deputy Los Angeles City Attorney Philip H. Lam, a former president of the Southern California Chinese Lawyers Association and former co-president of the Lesbian and Gay Bar Association, would assume the role of vice president.

The current president-elect, Michael E. Meyer, automatically becomes president on July 1.

If no opposition developed, the incoming trustees will be Susan J. Booth, Tanya Forsheit, and Jennifer W. Leland (at large members); Kristin Adrian, Matthew W. McMurtrey, and Kevin L. Vick, (representing sections); and Firoozeh “Faye” Nia, Michael R. Sohigian, and Felix Woo (representing affiliated bar associations).

Candidates opposing Nominating Committee candidates can get on the ballot by obtaining 100 signatures of LACBA members. Last year, there was the first contested election in 25 years, with a reform slate, headed by Meyer, winning overwhelmingly.


Copyright 2017, Metropolitan News Company