Metropolitan News-Enterprise


Friday, June 5, 2015


Page 3


Chief Justice Names Five New Members, Reappoints Five to Judicial Council


By a MetNews Staff Writer


Chief Justice Tani G. Cantil-Sakauye has named five new members to the Judicial Council and reappointed five current members, the council staff said yesterday.

“As the constitutional and statutory entity charged with governance of the judicial branch, the Judicial Council must tackle many challenges facing our court system,” the chief justice said in a release. “To meet these challenges, the council depends upon our collective experience and expertise and values each council member’s active participation in making decisions. I am confident in our new members and thank our dedicated and talented outgoing members for their invaluable service.” 

The release confirmed, as previously reported by the MetNews, that Los Angeles Superior Court Assistant Presiding Judge Daniel Buckley, now a non-voting member, will begin a three-year term as a voting member on Sept. 15, and that Judge Dalila Corral Lyons will join the council that day as a non-voting member.

Other new voting members taking office this fall are First District Court of Appeal Justice James M. Humes and San Francisco Superior Court Judge Samuel K. Feng. New non-voting members, besides Lyons, are Placer Superior Court Executive Officer Jake Chatters and Butte Superior Court Executive Officer Kimberly Flener.

Sonoma Superior Court Judge Gary Nadler was reappointed as a voting member, San Bernardino Superior Court Presiding Judge Marsha G. Slough goes from a non-voting to a voting member, and Merced Superior Court Presiding Judge Brian L. McCabe and Placer Superior Court Assistant Presiding Judge Charles D. Wachob were reappointed as non-voting members.

Members whose terms expire Sept. 15 include Justice Judith Ashmann-Gerst of this district’s Court of Appeal, Los Angeles Superior Court Judge James R. Brandlin, Sacramento Superior Court Judge David De Alba, Santa Barbara Superior Court Presiding Judge James E. Herman, Alameda Superior Court Assistant Presiding Judge Morris D. Jacobson, Yolo Superior Court Judge David Rosenberg, and Sutter Superior Court Executive Officer Mary Beth Todd.

According to the state Constitution, the chief justice chairs the Judicial Council and appoints one other Supreme Court justice, three justices from the courts of appeal, 10 trial court judges, two nonvoting court administrators, “and any other nonvoting members as determined by the voting membership of the council.” Other members include four attorneys appointed by the State Bar Board of Trustees and one member each appointed by the state Senate and Assembly, normally the chairs of their respective judiciary committees.

Los Angeles attorney Patrick M. Kelly is scheduled to begin his term on the council in September, succeeding James P. Fox.


Copyright 2015, Metropolitan News Company