Metropolitan News-Enterprise


Thursday, December 24, 2015


Page 1


Brown Names Four to Los Angeles Superior Court Judgeships

Governor Also Names Two to Court of Appeal, Seven to Other Trial Courts


By a MetNews Staff Writer




Deputy Alternate Public Defender


Deputy Public Defender






Gov. Jerry Brown yesterday named Francis B. Bennett II, Joel L. Lofton, Thomas D. Long and David A. Rosen to judgeships in the Los Angeles Superior Court.

Brown also named San Luis Obispo Superior Court Judge Martin Tangeman to Div. Six of this districtís Court of Appeal and San Bernardino Superior Court Presiding Judge Marsha Slough to the Fourth Districtís Div. Two. Those nominations are subject to confirmation by the Commission on Judicial Appointments.

The governor also appointed seven people to superior court judgeships in other counties.  

Bennett, 50, has served as a deputy alternate public defender in the county since 1995. He served as a deputy public defender from 1994 to 1995 and had his own practice from 1990 to 1994.

He is a graduate of the University of San Diego and of its law school, and fills the vacancy created by the retirement of Judge Patricia M. Schnegg.

Lofton, 44, has served as a Los Angeles County deputy public defender since 2005. He has been a Captain in the U.S. Army Reserve Judge Advocate Generalís Corps since 2011, having been an officer since 2009.

The appointee was a Riverside County deputy public defender from 2004 to 2005 and was an attorney at the African Community Resource Center from 2003 to 2004. He is a graduate of UC Riverside and Southwestern Law School and succeeds Judge Rand S. Rubin, who retired.

Partner at Nossaman

Long, 58, has been a partner at Nossaman LLP since 1991, and was an associate there from 1989 to 1991. He was a member of the Rancho Palos Verdes City Council from 2003 to 2011, serving as mayor in 2007 and 2011.

Long was an associate at Heller, Ehrman, White and McAuliffe from 1985 to 1989, at Youngman, Hungate and Leopold from 1983 to 1985 and at Hufstedler, Miller, Carlson and Beardsley from 1982 to 1983. His undergraduate and law degrees are from Stanford University, and he fills the vacancy created by the retirement of Judge Ronald H. Rose.

Rosen, 59, has been a partner at Rose, Klein and Marias LLP since 1988, having joined the firm as an associate in 1981. He is a graduate of UCLA and of Loyola Law School, and fills the vacancy created by the retirement of Judge Patrick J. Hegarty.

Judge Since 2001

Tangeman, 62, has served as a judge at the San Luis Obispo court since 2001. He was in private practice with two firms between 1978 and 2001, and graduated from California State University, Fullerton and Hastings College of the Law.

Tangeman, whose colleagues elected him last month as their presiding judge for next year, would fill the longstanding vacancy created by the retirement of Justice Paul H. Coffee.

Slough, 57, has been a judge of the San Bernardino since 2003 and its presiding judge since 2012. She is a member of the Judicial Council of California and its Technology Planning Task Force.

 The lawyer practiced with several law firms between 1989 and 2003. She is a graduate of Ottawa University in Kansas and Whittier Law School, and would fill the vacancy created by the retirement of Justice Betty A. Richli.

The governorís office noted that Slough would be the first openly gay justice in the history of the Fourth District.

Named to other trial court judgeships were San Joaquin Superior Court Commissioner Kristine A. Eagle, 51, as a judge of that court; sole practitioner Carlos M. Cabrera, 46, and Deputy District Attorney Bryan K. Stodghill, 46, to the San Bernardino Superior Court; Assistant District Attorney Anthony Fultz, 51, and sole practitioner Tara K. Howard, 47, to the Tulare Superior Court; San Diego practitioner John B. Scherling, 56, to the San Diego Superior Court; and Arturo Castro, 42, a Judicial Council staff attorney, to the Alameda Superior Court.

Bennett and Cabrera are Republicans, Lofton and Scherling are registered without a party preference, and the other appointees are Democrats.


Copyright 2015, Metropolitan News Company