Metropolitan News-Enterprise


Wednesday, February 18, 2015


Page 1


Chief Justice Cantil-Sakauye Makes Final Appointments To Futures Commission, Sets Group’s First Meeting


By a MetNews Staff Writer


Chief Justice Tani G. Cantil-Sakauye yesterday named the final 40 members of the Commission on the Future of California’s Court System, charged with recommending ways to improve the state court system by making it more efficient and effective, the Judicial Council staff said in a press release.

“I’m grateful for the impressive number of talented legal minds that will be tackling this issue,” the release quoted the chief justice as saying. “The commission will help ensure that the judicial branch is doing all it can to make our court system as accessible and efficient as possible.”

The release said the commission will be divided into four subcommittees, but the entire group will meet next Tuesday and Wednesday in the Milton Marks Conference Center at the state courts complex in San Francisco. “The meeting will be open to the public from 10:00 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. on Feb. 24, when commission members will receive an overview of their charge,” the release said.

The commission’s Civil Subcommittee is chaired by Court of Appeal Justice Judith L. Haller of the Fourth District’s Div, One. The vice-chair is Santa Clara Superior Court Judge Patricia Lucas, and members include Los Angeles Superior Court Presiding Judge Carolyn Kuhl and Judges Michelle William Court and Bruce Iwasaki; attorneys Robert P. Feldman of Quinn Emanuel Urquhart & Sullivan, LLP and Edith Matthai of Robie & Matthai; and former State Bar President Patrick Kelly, who is regional managing partner at Wilson Elser Moskowitz Edelman & Dicker LLP.

The Criminal/Traffic Subcommittee is chaired by Monterey Superior Court Judge Carrie McIntyre Panetta, with retired Placer Superior Court Judge J. Richard Couzens as vice-chair, Los Angeles County District Attorney Jackie Lacey is a member, and Court of Appeal Presiding Justice Tricia Ann Bigelow of this district’s Div. Eight, who chairs the Judicial Council Criminal Law Advisory Committee, is an advisory member.

The chair of the Family/Juvenile Subcommittee is Sacramento Superior Court Judge Stacy Boulware Eurie, The vice-chair is San Diego Superior Court Judge Lorna A. Alksne, and members include Los Angeles Superior Court Judge Holly J. Fujie—a former State Bar president—Donna Quigley Groman, who was recently named supervising judge of the court’s Juvenile Delinquency Division, and Mark A. Juhas, as well as Leslie Starr Heimov, executive director of Children’s Law Center of California.

The Fiscal/Court Administration Subcommittee is chaired by Fourth District Court of Appeal, Div. Three Presiding Justice Kathleen E. O’Leary, with San Diego Superior Court Executive Officer Mike Roddy as vice-chair. None of the members are from Los Angeles County.


Copyright 2015, Metropolitan News Company