Metropolitan News-Enterprise


Tuesday, January 7, 2014


Page 1


Obama Renominates Dozens of Judges, Including Two For Ninth U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals


By a MetNews Staff Writer


President Obama yesterday sent more than 50 judicial nominates to the Senate, including two for the Ninth U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals.

The bulk of the nominations, including those of John Owens and Michelle Friedland to the Ninth Circuit, are renominations that were necessitated when the Senate’s 2013 session adjourned without the president’s choices being voted on.

Senate Judiciary Chairman Patrick Leahy, D-Vt., wasted no time in scheduling committee votes for Thursday for Owens, Friedland, and 37 other nominees who have already had confirmation hearings.

In addition to Owens and Friedland, both litigation partners at Munger, Tolles & Olson, there are four district court nominees from California on the list—James Donato, Beth Labson Freeman, and Vince Girdhari Chhabria, in the Northern District and Cynthia Ann Bashant in the Southern District.

Other appeals court nominees and the courts for which they have been tapped are Robin S. Rosenbaum of Florida and Julie E. Carnes and Jill A. Pryor of Georgia, Eleventh U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals; Carolyn B. McHugh of Utah and Nancy L. Moritz of Kansas, Tenth U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals; and Gregg Jeffrey Costa of Texas, Fifth U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals.

Nominated to district courts were James Alan Soto, Douglas L. Rayes, Steven Paul Logan, Diane J. Humetewa, and Rosemary Márquez, District of Arizona; Pamela L. Reeves, Eastern District of Tennessee; Timothy L. Brooks, Western District of Arkansas; Jeffrey Alker Meyer, District of Connecticut; Jennifer Prescod May-Parker, Eastern District of North Carolina; Pedro A. Delgado Hernández, District of Puerto Rico; Bruce Howe Hendricks and Alison Renee Lee, District of South Carolina; Linda Vivienne Parker, Laurie J. Michelson, Judith Ellen Levy and Matthew Frederick Leitman, Eastern District of Michigan; James Maxwell Moody Jr., Eastern District of Arkansas; Tanya S. Chutkan and Christopher Reid Cooper, District of Columbia; Daniel D. Crabtree of District of Kansas, M. Douglas Harpool, Western District of Missouri; and Sheryl H. Lipman, Western District of Tennessee.

Also Gerald Austin McHugh Jr. and Edward G. Smith, Eastern District of Pennsylvania; Stanley Allen Bastian, Eastern District of Washington, Jon David Levy, District of Maine;  Manish S. Shah, Northern District of Illinois; Leo T. Sorokin, Indira Talwani and Mark G. Mastroianni, District of Massachusetts; Theodore David Chuang amd George Jarrod Hazel, District of Maryland; James D. Peterson, Western District of Wisconsin; Nancy J. Rosenstengel, Southern District of Illinois; Ronnie L. White, Eastern District of Missouri, Leigh Martin May, Michael P. Boggs, Eleanor Louise Ross and Mark Howard Cohen, Northern District of Georgia; and M. Hannah Lauck, Eastern District of Virginia.


Copyright 2014, Metropolitan News Company