Metropolitan News-Enterprise


Tuesday, September 30, 2014


Page 3


Los Angeles Superior Court Elects Three Commissioners


By a MetNews Staff Writer


The Los Angeles Superior Court yesterday elected three new commissioners.

Presiding Judge David Wesley informed his colleagues that ballots recently sent to judges by the court had been counted, and that Superior Court Managing Research Attorney Nicole Heeseman; Terry Truong, a former court referee now at the County Counselís Office; and Deputy Public Defender Terrance Lewis had been elected to the subordinate judicial officer posts.

The results follow the longstanding practice of electing the candidates whose names appear at the top of the ballot, based on the ranking of applicants by a judicial panel earlier this year.

Previously elected from that list were Commissioners Nancy Ramirez, William L. Sadler, Robert Palazzolo and Brenda Penny.

The remainder of the list includes, in ranked order, Deputy Alternate Public Defender Barbara McDaniel; Pasadena attorney Valerie Skeba, a former referee; Glendale sole practitioner Scott J. Nord; Los Angeles attorney J. Christopher Smith; Bellflower practitioner Maria Puente-Porras; Deputy District Attorney Latonya Hadnot Prioleau; Woodland Hills sole practitioner Michelle Short-Nagel; Deputy Public Defender Lisa Strassner; Deputy Federal Public Defender Alicia Blanco; Montebello attorney Armando Duron; Administrative Law Judge Amy C. Yerkey; court staff attorney Nichelle Blackwell; dependency court attorney Timothy Martella; Agoura Hills attorney and former referee Marilyn Mordetzky; Deputy Alternate Public Defender Michael Miller; Orange County Deputy Public Defender Sheryl Beasley; Amparo Veronica Sauceda of the Los Angeles Center for Law and Justice; and Irvine attorney Doreen Boxer.

Martella and Truong have also had their names sent to the State Bar Commission on Judicial Nominees Evaluation as possible judicial appointees.


Copyright 2014, Metropolitan News Company