Metropolitan News-Enterprise


Thursday, December 1, 2011


Page 3


Judge Edmon Names Supervising and Site Judges for 2012


By a MetNews Staff Writer


Los Angeles Superior Court Presiding Judge Lee S. Edmon has named the court’s supervising, assistant supervising, and site judges for 2012.

The court yesterday released the list of appointments, which were officially made last week. As is typically the case when a presiding judge enters the second year of a two-year term, there were few changes.

The most significant change was announced long before it became official. Judge Scott Gordon will be the new supervising judge in Family Law, replacing the retiring Marjorie Steinberg.

The remainder of the supervising judges will be Carolyn B. Kuhl in Civil, Patricia Schnegg in Criminal, Mitchell L. Beckloff in Probate, Thomas C. Falls in the East District; Thomas R. White in the North District, Mary Thornton House in the Northeast District; Charlaine Olmedo in the North Valley District; Richard Kirschner in the Northwest District; James D. Otto in the South District; John J. Cheroske in the South Central District; Yvonne T. Sanchez in the Southeast District; Mark S. Arnold in the Southwest District; and Joseph S. Biderman in the West District.

Michael Nash remains presiding Juvenile Court judge and Margaret S. Henry continues as supervising judge of the Dependency Court.

There will be four assistant supervising judges in Civil—Daniel Buckley; Helen I. Bendix, who will oversee the settlement program; Emilie H. Elias, who will be in charge of the complex case departments; and Jan G. Levine, overseeing limited jurisdiction courts.

Likewise, the Criminal departments will have four assistant supervising judges—George G. Lomeli; Carol H. Rehm, overseeing the misdemeanor courts; Samantha Jessner, in charge of the mental health courts, and Victor H. Greenberg, in charge of the traffic courts.

As previously announced, Judge Thomas T. Lewis will assist Gordon in overseeing the family courts.

Assistant supervising judges in the outlying courts are Steven D. Blades, East District; Lisa M. Chung, North District; Darrell Mavis, North Central and Northeast districts; Beverly Reid O’Connell, North Valley District; Louis M. Meisinger, Northwest District; Michael P. Vicencia, South District; Ricardo R. Ocampo, South Central District; Margaret Bernal, Southeast District; Alan B. Honeycutt, Southeast District, and Lisa Hart-Cole and Stephanie Sautner, West District.

Hart-Cole will oversee the district’s civil courts and Sautner the criminal departments.

Site judges will be Laura Priver in Alhambra, Sautner at the Airport Court, Leland H. Tipton in Bellflower, Richard A. Stone in Beverly Hills, Patrick Hegarty in Burbank, Paul T. Suzuki at the Central Arraignment Court; Mel Sandvig in Chatsworth; Ana Maria Luna in Downey and Huntington Park, Karla Kerlin in East Los Angeles, Steven Sanora in El Monte, Frederick R. Rotenberg in Glendale, Rehm in Hollywood, John V. Meigs in Inglewood, Lawrence J. Mira in Malibu, Greenberg at the Metropolitan Court, Juan Carlos Dominguez in Pomona North, Peter J. Mirich in San Pedro, Michael O’Gara in Santa Clarita, Douglas Sortino in West Covina, Biderman in West Los Angeles, and Olivia Rosales in Whittier.


Copyright 2011, Metropolitan News Company