Metropolitan News-Enterprise


Tuesday, April 20, 2010


Page 1


LACBA Committee Nominates Webber as President-Elect


By a MetNews Staff Writer


The Los Angeles County Bar Association yesterday announced the nomination of Eric A. Webber as its president-elect for the 2010-2011 term.

Following longstanding tradition, the associationís nominating committee tapped Webber, of Irell & Manella LLP and currently the associationís senior vice president, to move up to the president-electís post. The current president-elect, Alan K. Steinbrecher of Steinbrecher & Span LLP will succeed President Don Mike Anthony on July 1 and the newly elected officers and directors will begin their terms that day as well.

LACBAís nominating committee also selected current Vice President Richard J. Burdge Jr., a partner at Howrey LLP, for the post currently held by Webber and Patricia Egan Daenhnke of Bonne, Bridges, Mueller, OíKeefe & Nichols to succeed Burdge.

†Absent any challengers, an historically unlikely occurrence, the nominees are expected to be elected on June 21.

Nominated for seats on the Board of Trustees were Mariann S. Chang of Ogletree, Deakins, Nash, Smoak & Stewart, PC; Brian S. Currey of the Los Angeles Mayorís Office; Linda L. Curtis of Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP; Jeffrey J. Daar of Daar and Newman, PC; Angela S. Haskins of Baker, Keener & Nahra LLP; retired Court of Appeal Justice Richard C. Neal, now a private judge with JAMS; Annaluisa Padilla, who heads her own firm in La Habra; and James R. Robie of Robie & Matthai, APC.

Any eligible LACBA member who was not nominated by the committee may run for a board seat after submitting a written nomination form signed by at least 25 members. Similarly, current or former trustees may run for the three highest executive committee posts by filing a written nomination that at least 25 members have signed.

Nomination forms are available at LACBAís offices.


Copyright 2010, Metropolitan News Company