Metropolitan News-Enterprise


Monday, March 9, 2009


Page 3


Taylor, St. George Elected Superior Court Commissioners


By a MetNews Staff Writer


Los Angeles Deputy City Attorney Matthew C. St. George and Deputy Public Defender Kenneth H. Taylor have been elected Superior Court commissioners, court officials confirmed Friday.

The new commissioners were elected by the judges of the court on Thursday to succeed Victor H. Greenberg and Maren E. Nelson who were appointed by Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger as judges in January.

Taylor is a 1993 admittee to the State Bar, and graduated from the University of Pennsylvania and UCLA School of Law.

St. George attended the University of Norte Dame, followed by Loyola Law School, and was admitted to the State Bar in 1980.

He made an unsuccessfully bid for a seat on the State Bar Board of Governors in 2002—losing by 27 votes to Deputy District Attorney Steven Ipsen—and is a current director at large of the Conference of Delegates of California Bar Associations.

Neither Taylor nor St. George could be reached for comment.

Under local rules, vacant superior court commissioner positions are filled by a vote of the judges from a list of candidates nominated by a court panel. Although the ranking order is not binding on the judges, all commissioners chosen in recent years have been selected in ranked order.

Following the election of St. George and Taylor, 17 candidates remain on that list in the following order:

William V. McTaggart Jr., a professional mediator and former partner at Parker, Milliken, Clark, O’Hara & Samuelian; Stephen M. Lowry of the downtown Los Angeles firm of Russo & Lowry; Los Angeles attorney Michael Shultz; Deputy Public Defender Nancy Pogue; Los Angeles Police Department Assistant Inspector General Nicole Bershon; Children’s Law Center attorney Emma Castro; Deputy District Attorney Eloise Phillips; Michael R. Diliberto, president of Advantage Arbitration and Mediation Services, LLC; Deputy District Attorney Arunas A. Sodonis; Los Angeles attorney Faith Mitchell; Referee Shep Zebberman; Lancaster attorney William A. Clark; Richard L. Bissetti, an associate at Century City’s Magana, Cathcart & McCarthy; Downey criminal defense lawyer Michael LaPan; Hawthorne Deputy City Attorney Robert Kim; Deputy Public Defender Lisa Brackelmanns; and Deputy District Attorney Renee Korn.


Copyright 2009, Metropolitan News Company