Metropolitan News-Enterprise


Thursday, March 6, 2008


Page 1


Candidates Finalized in Four Superior Court Judicial Races


By STEVEN M. ELLIS, Staff Writer


The field of candidates who will be running for seats on the Los Angeles Superior Court in the June 3, 2008 Primary Election has now been finalized in four of the 11 contested races, according to papers filed this week with the Los Angeles County Registrar of Voters.

Based on nomination paperwork filed with the registrar’s office by eligible candidates as the close of business on Tuesday, the full list of candidates can now be determined in the races for Offices Nos. 4, 72, 119 and 123.

Redondo Beach attorney Sydnee R. Singer will take on Los Angeles Superior Court Judge Ralph W. Dau for a seat in Office No. 4 in the only challenge to a sitting judge, while Deputy District Attorneys Marc A. Chomel and Hilleri Grossman Merritt, and Tarzana attorney Steven A. Simons will compete for a seat in Office No. 72.

Los Angeles attorneys Robert R. Davenport and Douglas W. Weitzman, and Deputy District Attorney Jared D. Moses will compete for a seat in Office No. 119, while Deputy District Attorneys Kathleen Blanchard and Allan A. Nadir, and North Hills attorney Richard A. Nixon, will compete for a seat in Office No. 123.

Candidates have filed nomination papers in all of the remaining seven races, with the exception of Office No. 95, where neither Los Angeles Superior Court Commissioner Patricia D. Nieto nor Deputy Attorney General Lance E. Winters have filed papers, although both have taken out papers.

Confirmed candidates for the other six races are as follows:

Office No. 69—Deputy District Attorney Serena R. Murillo has filed papers, but Los Angeles Supreme Court Commisioner Harvey A. Silberman, who has taken out papers both in this race and in the race for Office No. 94, has not.

Office No. 82—Deputy District Attorney Mark Lee and Superior Court Referee Cynthia Loo have both filed papers, but Deputy District Attorney Thomas Rubinson has not.

Office No. 84—Worker’s Compensation Judge John “Johnny” Gutierrez and Superior Court Commissioner Lori-Ann C. Jones have both filed papers, but Deputy District Attorney Pat Connolly and Deputy Attorneys General Paul “Pablo” Bruguera and Bob Henry have not. Bruguera and Henry have both also taken out papers in the race for Office No. 154.

Office No. 94—Deputy District Attorneys Eduard R. Abele and Michael J. O’Gara have both filed papers, but Deputy Public Defender C. Edward Mack and Silverman have not.

Office No.125—Los Angeles attorney Bill Johnson has filed papers, but Superior Court Commissioner James N. Bianco has not.

Office No. 154—Superior Court Commissioner Rocky L. Crabb and Deputy District Attorney Michael V. Jesic have filed papers, but Bruguera and Henry have not.

The deadline to submit nomination papers for judicial candidates planning to run in the June 3, 2008 Primary Election is this Friday at 5:00 p.m. 

An extension period for non-incumbents filing late will run until next Wednesday at 5:00 p.m.


Copyright 2008, Metropolitan News Company