Metropolitan News-Enterprise


Friday, March 7, 2008


Page 3


Candidates Finalized in All but Two Los Angeles Superior Court Races


By a MetNews Staff Writer


The field of candidates running for seats on the Los Angeles Superior Court in the June 3, 2008 primary election has now been finalized in all but two races, according to papers filed this week with the Los Angeles County Registrar of Voters and statements by candidates to the MetNews.

According to the registrar’s website, Superior Court Commissioners James N. Bianco and Patricia Nieto, and Deputy District Attorney Thomas Rubinson, filed their nomination paperwork on Wednesday, finalizing the races in Office Nos. 82, 95 and 125, while Deputy Attorney General Paul “Pablo” Bruguera told the MetNews that he filed nomination papers yesterday for Office No. 154, and that Deputy Attorney General Bob Henry filed nomination papers for Office No. 84.

Additionally, Deputy District Attorney Pat Connolly told the MetNews yesterday that he will be filing his nomination paperwork tomorrow for Office No. 84.

Deputy Attorney General Lance E. Winters, who was erroneously reported yesterday as not having yet filed his nomination papers, did in fact file his paperwork on Feb. 22.

The MetNews was also advised by Superior Court Judge Paul Bacigalupo—the only sitting judge who had not returned nomination papers as of the close of business on Wednesday—that he returned his nomination papers yesterday.

The news leaves Deputy Public Defender C. Edward Mack—who has pulled papers for Office No. 94—and Superior Court Commissioner Harvey A. Silberman—who has pulled papers for both Office Nos. 69 and 94—as the only remaining candidates who have taken out, but not yet returned, nomination papers.

Silberman’s consultant, Evelyn Jerome Alexander, told the MetNews earlier this week that Silberman will make his decision in which race to run by tomorrow at 5:00 p.m., the deadline to submit nomination papers for the June 3 primary election.

If Silberman opts to run for Office No. 69, he will face Deputy District Attorney Serena R. Murillo. If he opts to run for Office No. 94, he will face Deputy District Attorneys Eduard R. Abele and Michael J. O’Gara, as well as Mack, so long as Mack returns his nomination papers by tomorrow’s deadline.

The races in which the list of candidates has been finalized are:

Office No. 4—Redondo Beach attorney Sydnee R. Singer, and sitting Los Angeles Superior Court Judge Ralph W. Dau.

Office No. 72—Deputy District Attorneys Marc A. Chomel and Hilleri Grossman Merritt, and Tarzana attorney Steven A. Simons.

Office No. 82— Deputy District Attorneys Mark Lee and Thomas Rubinson, and Superior Court Referee Cynthia Loo.

Office No. 84—Worker’s Compensation Judge John “Johnny” Gutierrez, Superior Court Commissioner Lori-Ann C. Jones, Deputy District Attorney Pat Connolly and Deputy Attorney General Bob Henry.

Office No. 95—Superior Court Commissioner Patricia D. Nieto and Deputy Attorney General Lance E. Winters.

Office No. 119—Los Angeles attorneys Robert R. Davenport and Douglas W. Weitzman, and Deputy District Attorney Jared D. Moses.

Office No. 123—Deputy District Attorneys Kathleen Blanchard and Allan A. Nadir, and North Hills attorney Richard A. Nixon.

Office No. 125—Los Angeles attorney Bill Johnson and Superior Court Commissioner James N. Bianco.

Office No. 154—Superior Court Commissioner Rocky L. Crabb, Deputy District Attorney Michael V. Jesic and Deputy Attorney General Paul “Pablo” Bruguera.


Copyright 2008, Metropolitan News Company