Metropolitan News-Enterprise


Monday, August 21, 2006


Page 3


Riverside Attorney Bruce Varner Named to UC Regents


By a MetNews Staff Writer


Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger Friday named Riverside attorney Bruce Varner, managing partner of the firm of Varner & Brandt, to the Board of Regents for the University of California.

Also named to the board, which governs the UC system that educates more than 200,000 students and employs more than 160,000 people, was  William C. De La Pena, a Whittier ophthalmologist.

“As products of the renowned UC system, William and Bruce uniquely understand the vital role our public universities play in giving students a world-class education so they are trained for the 21st century economy,” the governor said in a statement. “These men are both highly respected in their fields and will be a tremendous asset in ensuring the UC system remains affordable - because an investment in our students is an investment in California’s future.”

Varner, 69, has been a member of the State Bar for more than 43 years. He is a corporate and business lawyer and has been a partner in his current firm since 1997. 

He previously spent 33 years with the firm that eventually became Gresham, Varner, Savage, Nolan & Tilden, and began his career at  Kindel & Anderson in Los Angeles.

Varner currently serves on the University Advisory Board for California State University, San Bernardino and on the Board of Trustees for the University of California, Riverside Foundation, and is a volunteer lieutenant for the San Bernardino County Sheriff’s Office.

He has served on the boards of numerous civic groups, and on the City of San Bernardino Baseball Stadium Commission. A resident of Redlands, he is a graduate of UC Santa Barbara and Hastings College of the Law.

There are 26 regents including the governor, who serves as president; the lieutenant governor; the speaker of the Assembly; the superintendent of public instruction; the president and vice president of the University of California Alumni Association;  the president of the university; one student; two non-voting faculty representatives; 18 public members appointed by the Governor to 12-year terms.


Copyright 2006, Metropolitan News Company