Metropolitan News-Enterprise


Monday, November 29, 2004


Page 1


Presiding Judge-Elect Names Six New Supervising Judges for 2005




Los Angeles Superior Court Presiding Judge-elect William A. MacLaughlin has named six new supervising judges for 2005, while keeping most of the courtís management team intact.

MacLaughlin Wednesday issued the courtís complete assignment list for next year. The new supervising judges include Charles W. McCoy, who replaces Carolyn Kuhl as supervising judge of the civil courts in the Central District; Aviva K. Bobb, who takes over for retiring Judge Thomas Stoever in probate; Robert A. Schnider, who takes Bobbís place overseeing the family law departments; Thomas C. Falls, who takes over for George Genesta in the East District; Michael R. Hoff, who takes over for Sandy Kriegler in the Northwest District; and Margaret S. Henry, who replaces Emily Stevens as supervising judge of the dependency courts.

Supervising judges who retain their current posts are Thomas R. White in the North District; Coleman A. Swart, who supervises both the North Central and Northeast Districts; Peter Espinoza, who remains at the helm in the Southeast District; Mark S. Arnold of the Southwest District; Linda K. Lefkowitz in the West District; Alice C. Hill in the North Valley District, Bradford L. Andrews in the South District, and John Cheroske in the South Central District.

David S. Wesley remains supervising judge of the criminal courts in the Central District, while Michael Nash remains presiding juvenile court judge.

MacLaughlin also named four new assistant supervising judges, including Lee Edmon in Central District Civil, Rafael Ongkeko in Mental Health, Dan T. Oki in the East District, and Leslie A. Dunn in the Northwest District.

Holdover assistant presiding judges include Patricia M. Schnegg, Criminal-Misdemeanor; John H. Sandoz, Family Law; Janice C. Croft, North Central and Northeast districts; Melvin Sandvig, North Valley District; William R. Weisman, South District; Brian F. Gasdia, Southeast District; Francis J. Hourigan, Southwest District; and Gerald Rosenberg, West District.

Judge Dzintra Janavs remains managing judge for Writs and Receivers, where she and David Yaffe remain the only assigned judges.

MacLaughlin, the courtís current assistant presiding judge, succeeds Judge Robert Dukes as presiding judge Jan. 1, for a two-year term. The assistant presiding judge for the next two years will be Judge J. Stephen Czuleger.

Copyright 2004, Metropolitan News Company