Metropolitan News-Enterprise


Monday, June 16, 2003


Page 3


Civil Grand Jury Drawn for 2003-2004 Term


By a MetNews Staff Writer


The Los Angeles County civil grand jury for the 2003-2004 term was chosen Friday in a random drawing.

The 23 grand jurors and 10 alternates, who will be sworn in for a one-year term on July 1 and are charged with investigating the honesty and efficiency of government operations, were the survivors of a lengthy process that began with each Superior Court judge permitted to nominate up to two candidates.

The list was culled through background checks and an earlier drawing which reduced the number of potential jurors to 40, plus 10 alternates. Twelve of the 40, plus five of the alternates, dropped out or failed to complete the paperwork, however, leaving just 33 candidates for Friday’s drawing.

The grand jurors, selected by means of a random-number computer program from that final pool of 33, are: William Grasska, Robert Kyle, William Sullivan, William Kelly Sr., John Allswang, Shirley Chatters, Carolyn Brown, John Lewis, Marjorie Rhodes, Jean Ushijima, Claire Stone, Angel Alvarado, Gerry Rische, Richard Meyers, Grayce Young, Victoria Small, Raymond Lamb, John Capers, Richard Smith, Ernestine Larry, Octavio V. Chavez. Kenneth Sutton, and Senen De La Torre.

The remaining 10 candidates were designated as alternates and will be called to fill vacancies in the following, randomly selected order: Louise Delparine, Mateo Natavidad, Angelica Stevenson, Charles Follett, Benjamin Breslauer, Joyce Deshler, Carole Nielsen, Ronald McGinley, Ambrosio Garcia, Dora Esparza.


Copyright 2003, Metropolitan News Company