Metropolitan News-Enterprise


Friday, April 11, 2003


Page 3


Governor Reappoints Michael Kahn to Judicial Commission


By a MetNews Staff Writer


Gov. Grey Davis yesterday named San Francisco attorney Michael Kahn to a second term on the Commission on Judicial Performance.

Kahn, 54,† has been senior partner and head of litigation at Folger Levin & Kahn LLP since 1979. The firm is based in San Francisco and has a Los Angeles office as well.

He has been a member of the Commission on Judicial Performance since 1999 during which time he served as vice chair and chair of the Commission.

In 2000, Kahn was chair of the California Electricity Oversight Board and in 2001 he was appointed to the California Independent System Operator and currently serves as chair of its Board of Governors. He is the author of several articles and reports on litigation practice and Supreme Court history.

He is a graduate of UCLA and holds a master of arts degree from Stanford University, where he also earned his law degree. After graduation, he served for a year as a law clerk to Judge Ben C. Duniway of the Ninth U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals.

His new term expires Feb. 28, 2007.

The governor yesterday also said he was reappointing Los Angeles attorney Cynthia McClain-Hill as a member of the California Coastal Commission.

McClain-Hill has been a member of the Commission since 1999, and is co-founder and managing partner of McClain-Hill Associates, a law firm established in 1995 specializing in municipal, legislative, land use and environmental law. She also serves on a number of non-profit boards including the UCLA Foundation Board of Councilors.

She is a former member of the California Fair Political Practices Commission and the Los Angeles Community Redevelopment Agency. Her undergraduate and law degrees are from UCLA.

The governorís Coastal Commission appointees serve two-year terms at the pleasure of the chief executive, and are not covered by the recent legislative change applicable to appointees of the Senate Rules Committee and Assembly speaker.

Members appointed by those officials will serve four-year terms and are not subject to removal by the appointing authority, effective next month.


Copyright 2003, Metropolitan News Company