Metropolitan News-Enterprise


Thursday, July 25, 2002


Page 3


Cramer, Runyon Named to Court Reporting Task Force


By a MetNews Staff Writer


Veteran Los Angeles Superior Court reporter Gary Cramer and court administrator Paul Runyon have been named by Chief Justice Ronald M. George to a task force that will recommend uniform statewide court reporting policies.

The Reporting of the Record Task Force will study such issues standardization of reporting systems, uniformity of transcripts, maintenance of and access to transcripts via electronic or paper media, and the impact of the current shortage of court reporters, the Administrative Office of the Courts said in a release.

“This task force will assist the Judicial Council in developing effective statewide policy to help our court system better serve the public,” George said. “The verbatim record in trial court proceedings is an essential tool in the court system. Its accuracy and availability are absolutely necessary to allow the judicial process to unfold.”

Cramer has served as president of the Los Angeles Court Reporters Association, chairman of the Los Angeles County Employees Association Committee on Political Education, and a member of the state Task Force on Trial Court Employees. He was recently appointed by Gov. Gray Davis to the board that oversees the court reporting profession.

Runyon is currently administrator for litigation support in the Superior Court. He previously served as manager for court reporter services.

The task force is chaired by Presiding Justice James Ardaiz of the Fifth District Court of Appeal.

Other members are Colusa Superior Court Presiding Judge S. William Abel; San Diego Superior Court Assistant Presiding Judge John S. Einhorn; court reporters Maura Baldocchi of San Francisco Superior Court, Kary Parker of Orange Superior Court, and Tom Pringle of Shasta Superior Court; and Barbara J. Lane, supervisor of court reporters in Riverside Superior Court.

Also court administrators Ron D. Barrow of the First District Court of Appeal, Len LeTellier of Sutter Superior Court, Jeanne Millsaps of San Joaquin Superior Court, Gordon Park-Li of San Francisco Superior Court, and Alan Slater of Orange Superior Court; and attorneys Edward J. Horowitz, an appellate specialist from Pacific Palisades, Gary E. McCurdy of the Central California Appellate Program in Sacramento, and Fiel D. Tigno, supervising deputy attorney general of Oakland.


Copyright 2002, Metropolitan News Company