Metropolitan News-Enterprise


Wednesday, August 7, 2002


Page 3


Board of Governors Names Former LACBA President David Pasternak To Judicial Council


By a MetNews Staff Writer


Former Los Angeles County Bar Association President David Pasternak has been named to the California Judicial Council by the State Bar Board of Governors, the Administrative Office of the Courts said yesterday.

Pasternak and Santa Clara County Counsel Ann Ravel were named to three-year terms beginning Sept. 15, the AOC said in a release. They will replace Pasadena lawyer John J. Collins and Deputy Attorney General Pauline Gee of Sacramento.

Pasternak is a partner in the Century City firm of Pasternak, Pasternak & Patton, where he practices civil litigation and receivership law. A former deputy attorney general and counsel for the Department of Corporations, he was president of LACBA from 1997 to 1998.

The AOC also disclosed that Chief Justice Ronald M. George has appointed four judicial members of the council, along with a court commissioner and two court executives who will serve as advisory members.

The council consists of the chief justice—who serves as chair—plus one Supreme Court justice, four Court of Appeal justices, 10 superior court judges, four attorneys and two legislators. The chief justice gets to appoint all of the judicial members, while the four attorneys are chosen by the Board of Governors and the legislators by the Senate and Assembly leadership.

George named Presiding Justice Laurence D. Kay of the First District Court of Appeal Div. Four, Tuolumne Superior Court Presiding Jude Eric L. DuTemple, Santa Clara Superior Court Judge Jack Komar, and Santa Cruz Superior Court Judge Heather D. Morse as voting members of the council.

Sacramento Superior Court Commissioner Patricia H. Wong, San Bernardino Superior Court Executive Officer Tressa Sloan Kentner, and Shasta Superior Court Executive Officer Susan Null were named advisory members.

George’s appointees will all serve three-year terms except for Null, who is filling the vacancy left by Christine Patton when she left her Santa Cruz Superior Court post to take a position with the AOC.

Holdover council members include Supreme Court Justice Marvin Baxter, Orange Superior Court Judge Gail Andrea Andler, Los Angeles Superior Court Judge Aviva K. Bobb, Los Angeles Superior Court Assistant. Presiding Judge Robert A. Dukes, Solano Superior Court Judge William C. Harrison, Fresno Superior Court Judge Brad R. Hill, Alameda Superior Court Judge Ronald M. Sabraw, and Contra Costa Superior Court Judge Barbara Ann Z˙Òiga.

Also Los Angeles attorney Rex A. Heeseman, San Diego attorney Thomas J. Warwick Jr., state Sen. Martha Escutia, D-Los Angeles, and Assemblywoman Ellen M. Corbett, D-San Leandro.

Los Angeles Superior Court Judge Gregory C. O’Brien Jr. will become an advisory member of the council when he takes the California Judges Association presidency in October.


Copyright 2002, Metropolitan News Company